Peace On Earth

Luke 2:13-14 – And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, goodwill toward men.
 
Seasons greetings and Merry Christmas everyone!!! As it has always been, the Holidays are my absolute favorite time of the year! I just love the whole atmosphere…the music, the lights, the Christmas trees, warm drinks, cozy fires, kids filled with excitement for their soon-coming presents, and…well, you get the picture. But, as I get older, Christmas gets associated with other things as well, namely memories. I have absolutely wonderful Christmas memories of my Christmas pasts. But, in the same token, getting older means that we lose loved ones over the years. Nobody likes it, it’s just an unfortunate part of life. Death was never part of God’s design. Death doesn’t exist within the realm of God’s being. As a matter of fact, the Bible tells us that death is an enemy of God, one that will one day claim it’s very last victim and finally be defeated itself by God. Death will not have the last word, but Life will…God will. 
But, although death is an unfortunate part of the human experience and even though we all lose loved ones over time, as Believers we can have peace throughout our lives that surpasses the turmoils of life. The scripture as the top of this post tells us that God is at peace with mankind. The word “peace” in this verse in the original Greek means, “choice, kindly intent, delight, pleasure, satisfaction, for delight in any absent things easily produces longing for it”. You can’t beat that! That describes how much God longed for us and exactly how He feels about us! I can’t tell you how much this verse has impacted my life. For a long time, the idea that God was at peace with mankind, or me, was a totally foreign concept. But now, it’s a truth that I continually feast on, live by and shape my life around. Again, the whole concept was totally foreign to me at one time. To think that God was at peace with me or the rest of the world seemed absurd. And even if somehow He could have been at peace with everyone else, He certainly couldn’t have been at peace with me because, well, I was me and me was just flat out bad, no good and utterly hopeless of ever being anything else! But, through the process of time and much, much repentance (changing of mind) that came through continually hearing the Good News that God’s goodness was bigger and better than my badness, I eventually settled on the fact that strictly because of Jesus and for absolutely no other reason at all, God really, truly was at peace with me. And I just can’t tell you how that reality has permeated into my whole life. It’s affected my prayer life, my work life, my marriage, my…everything. So ladies and gentlemen, wherever you find yourself in life during this holiday season, I beseech you to accept the powerful reality that God is at absolute peace with you. I understand how difficult it can be to accept that truth, but I encourage you to accept it by faith. You’re feelings, thoughts, friends and family, church and even your own experience may all try to tell you otherwise, but the Word of God is the final authority of Truth and it declares on no uncertain terms that God is at peace with you! You probably have a million and one reasons to be down, sad and depressed, but you can make the choice to put your focus and attention on the greater truth that God loves you, is for you, is happy with you, in love with you and that He is absolutely at peace with you! 
 
With Much Love, 
Jordan Orick
 
Merry Christmas! 
Leave a Reply

